Cafetalk Featured Tutor Interview


From    In
Inglés Otros idiomas Dibujo y pintura General IT

Anamika Tutor Interview

Q. Hi Anamika! Thank you for taking the time to do this interview. May we ask you to briefly introduce yourself?

A. Hello!! First of all, Thank you very much for this opportunity. Let me introduce myself. I am Anamika from Nepal. I am a Todai( The University of Tokyo) Graduate with a masters degree in science. I also call myself an artist though I am an amateur. Teaching has been a consistent passion of mine since I was a freshman in college. But I ventured into teaching English approximately three years ago and have been with Cafetalk for the past six months. I am eagerly anticipating many more rewarding experiences ahead.

Q. Please tell us more about your hometown and the area where you currently reside.

A. My hometown is Chitwan in Nepal, renowned for its national park, which is a major attraction for tourists. Visitors flock here for activities such as elephant safaris, birdwatching, elephant showers, canoeing, riverside sunset viewing, and luxury hotel-stays. Although these activities are popular among tourists, personally, I don't indulge in them very often. Instead, I cherish spending quality time with my family whenever I'm in Chitwan. Currently, I reside in a small town near Dehradun in India. Life here moves at a much slower pace compared to the hustle and bustle of Tokyo I used to be in. This place is quiet but still there is so much to do around.

Q. What motivated you to become a tutor on Cafetalk?

A. I didn't know teaching English was my thing before going to Japan. When I started teaching English as a part-time teacher in Tokyo, it made me realize that this was something I was passionate about. Even after leaving Japan, I felt a strong desire to remain connected with the people from Japan and other countries and continue teaching English. It was during this search that I stumbled upon Cafetalk, which appeared to be an ideal fit for my nomadic lifestyle.

Q. What are you usually up to when you're not teaching on Cafetalk? What are your hobbies and interests?

A. When I'm not teaching on Cafetalk, I engage in a variety of hobbies and interests. While I don't pursue them all the time, I have a few passions that I regularly engage in. For instance, I've been exploring painting for quite some time, particularly with acrylic and gouache paints. Additionally, I enjoy indoor gardening, cycling, reading, journaling, and recently, cooking for my husband.

Q. A lot of students are probably curious about the atmosphere in your lessons. What can a student imagine a lesson with you to be like? What’s your teaching style?

A. Most of my students mention they feel a sense of calmness in my lessons. I believe that confidence comes with comfort, so I always do my best to make my students feel at ease during our sessions. I provide them with a space to express themselves freely while also offering comprehensive feedback as needed.

Q. Which lessons would you recommend to your students?

A. I can't recommend a single lesson to all students because everyone has their own unique goals and expectations. Fortunately, I offer a diverse range of lessons, allowing students to choose the ones that best suit their needs. This variety enables my students to find multiple ways to connect with me.

Q. Finally, would you like to leave a message for your current and future students?

A. To my current students, you are my rock. I love what I am doing because of you. Every lesson we share is as enlightening for me as it is for you. Thank you so much for your trust and support.

To my future students, if you're unsure about taking a lesson with me, I encourage you to start with a quick 15-minute session. It's a great way to gauge if we're a good fit. One thing I can assure you is, I am fully committed to supporting you in every possible way on your learning journey.



Got a question? Click to Chat